Skip to content

Do I really need a reason to hate Rod Stewart?

August 29, 2008

A conversation at work last week has me thinking about the nature of hate, which is arguably the most visceral of all our emotions. I was happily tapping away at my computer, listening to Classic Vinyl on Sirius radio (I prefer something a little more rockin’ but often compromise to keep the peace) when, much to my disgust, Rod Stewart’s “Maggie May” came on. I instantly switched to a more agreeable station, when one of my co-workers inquired into the obvious hastiness of my decision.

“I hate, hate, hate, hate Rod Stewart,” I snipped.

“What’s Rod Stewart ever done to you?” she asked.

A fair question. What has he done to me personally? Well, I find his music to be very irritating. The fact is, he makes irritating music, puts it out into the world, and I am occasionally subjected to it. In my mind, this is a personal affront and therefore reason enough to justify my abhorrence.

Rod, you better hope you never bump into me in a dark alley.

Rod, you better hope I never bump into you in a dark alley.

To be fair, Mr. Stewart does not know me, nor does he intend for me personally to hear his scratchy pseudo-crooning. And yet none of this stops me from taking it all so personally. However, when asked to rationalize my hate, I am at somewhat of a loss. Hate, though intensely visceral, is not necessarily rational. My hatred of Rod Stewart, I suppose, is no different than someone hating bell peppers.

Music affects us on a very deep level — the good stuff as well as the not-so-good stuff. I know it isn’t healthy to dwell on hate, particularly when we must go to such lengths to justify it, but, if it’s all the same to you, I think I’ll go on hating Rod Stewart. How can you not?

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    August 8, 2009 12:32 am

    I am so with you.

  2. Maggie Maybe Not permalink
    March 8, 2010 12:52 pm

    Rod Stewart used to be a hero. Great music in the late 60’s and 70’s, shagging supermodels and being a proper rock star.

    But look at the leather faced old bastard now. Not content with murdering old crooner tunes, he’s absolutely slaughtering some great Motown stuff.

    Rod – I don’t care how much money you have or how tall your Mrs is. You’re being laughed at because your music is utterly ridiculous and you can’t sing for shit.

  3. Charlie Singe permalink
    April 3, 2010 12:31 pm

    how can a short ugly man ever be thought of as cool. I can’t even understand how he could have even been cool in the 70s when you look at all the good shit that was around then. My grandfather is in his 80s and looks fitter and dresses his age. Given half the chance probably sings better too. He is a prime example of an overconfident little prick who wasn’t put in his place earlier and now with slick marketing morons actually buy his crap.

    • November 11, 2013 6:11 pm

      What does it have to do with being short or ugly you moron? Il faut croire que le nom “singe” te va bien pauvre imbecile…

  4. Weasel691 permalink
    April 14, 2010 11:44 pm

    A google search on “hate Rod Stewart” will bring approximately 959 results. However, “love Rod Stewart” about 87,000. The wiser of you will say “hey to each his own–some people love bell peppers.” The more obnoxious will say “I am musically superior and know more than those who have made him a gazillionaire.”

    And life goes on…..
    (However, having seen Rod Stewart in person several times, he is not, as oft-reported short. He is ((or at least was in his younger days, around 5’11)). At 65 he may have lost an inch but he is not 5’6 or anything like that….So I guess there is just a little more there for you all to hate!!

  5. July 30, 2010 4:29 am

    Reason and emotion are contrary by their nature. So, no. 🙂

  6. PAULA ALLISON permalink
    December 22, 2010 4:31 pm

    EWWWWW I JUST HATE ROD STEWART, HE THINKS HE IS DAMN SEXY, BUT HE IS JUST A GRANDPA 🙂

    • PAULA ALLISON permalink
      December 22, 2010 4:32 pm

      i know right!?

    • BARBara Stansbury permalink
      April 4, 2011 12:29 am

      LOVE U ROD !!
      AND I BET U PEEPS THAT HATE HIM HAVE A WHOLE LOT GOING ON…LOL…LOL

  7. Tiana Giacalone permalink
    June 6, 2011 4:33 am

    I most certainly do need a reason to hate him. In fact, its more likely for me to need a reason to not dig through his trash in hopes of finding something hes had maybe wiped his nose on or anything of that nature. I will have his babies!

  8. Tiana Giacalone permalink
    June 6, 2011 4:37 am

    I most certainly do need a reason to hate him. In fact, its more likely for me to need a reason to not dig through his trash in hopes of finding something he had wiped his nose on or anything of that nature. I will have his babies!

  9. Tiana Giacalone permalink
    June 15, 2011 6:58 am

    So Ive had it with all this malarkey. I see the debate still goes on. Since 2008 to be exact. This is very important to me that you all understand that just because you may not have the good looks or talent or sexual appeal of Mr. Stewart that you not hate. Cause hate is such a dirty word.

  10. Anonymous permalink
    December 6, 2011 11:24 pm

    He should have stuck to playing football

    • chris permalink
      February 14, 2014 1:10 pm

      only thick f–ks play football so that figures!!!

  11. January 20, 2012 9:44 pm

    I confess to not hating him much overall, but you know that song “Tonight’s the Night” that seemed to be everywhere in the late 70s? Creepiest. Song. EVER.

    You might enjoy the following song. Just substitute “Rod Stewart” for “Bob Seger”.

    • January 31, 2012 5:19 pm

      Nice. Also, I feel the need to say a nice thing about his early band Faces, even though it pains me so.

  12. Anonymous permalink
    June 5, 2012 8:12 pm

    You better check yourself Christopher.

  13. July 26, 2012 10:50 pm

    I feel this way about some country songs that get to whiny about losing their girlfriend or wife, because it feels a bit sappy. However, I am so withdrawn that I let other people pick the radio stations in social settings. I only do music at home and my off time. Some how I really do not think music should even be played in a work setting, unless people are wearing headphones. Maybe everyone should just listen to an ipod, it solves this problem.

  14. Anonymous permalink
    March 22, 2013 8:45 am

    just seen him being interviewed, that guy sucks man!!

  15. Mark Cuerton permalink
    May 21, 2013 7:59 am

    His cringeworthy performance live on radio 2 deserves your comment. I complained that it was offensive

    • chris maile permalink
      February 11, 2014 8:17 pm

      Stewart is a talentless and mediocre has-been who could never in his wildest dreams aspire to the greatness of Bowie.Quite how he had the temerity to churn out such a wagon load of ordure in the seventies beggars belief.He didn’t have any creative nous or artistic vision,barely wrote a song,and,from 75 on became a laughable parody of his former ridiculous self.If I were to offer a charitable closing comment I would say he should have hung up his mic and faded away in 78.

    • Anonymous permalink
      October 3, 2015 9:01 pm

      He really is crap live. His vocal tone is weak & annoying; he sings out of tune & runs out of breath. Plus he’s ugly as hell, but does have a big dick i believe. Seems that’s all i can possibly think his female fans adore.

  16. December 31, 2013 10:05 pm

    This post is dead on. I can not explain my hatred for Rod Stewart either. It’s just his voice in general I think. Thanks for the post though

  17. Anonymous permalink
    July 24, 2014 7:44 pm

    i hate him…cannot stand him.

  18. February 13, 2015 9:18 pm

    Absolutely on the same page!

  19. Prickly Pete permalink
    July 18, 2015 9:53 am

    If I weren’t so lazy I would make a cartoon of a hedgehog in tight pants strutting around a stage while a Rod Stewart song played over the sound of women screaming. Hotel keys and flowers would be landing all around him.

  20. handsomeblackbrad1953 permalink
    March 18, 2017 2:31 pm

    Well,I’m 63 and possess boyish good looks.I wish I’d been a rocker so I could have gotten some of the babes Rod Stewart and other ugly musicians have copped.

  21. July 22, 2017 4:37 pm

    YES. FUCKING YES.

Trackbacks

  1. Dream Girls and Fela | BugginWord

Leave a Reply

