Skip to content

Listerine commercials are the worst

September 6, 2008

The headline says it all… really.

Every time a commercial for Listerine Antiseptic Mouthwash comes on the television, I have to turn it off. I mean, I absolutely HAVE TO! On the surface, these adverts are typical in that they feature actors using the product in everyday situations. The problem is, using this particular product consists of swooshing it around in your mouth — and, for some strange reason, that swooshing sound is like fingernails on a chalkboard to me.

I know the foley artists for these things must be only a few centimeters away with a microphone when they capture the swooshing effect. This amplifies the annoyance factor of the finished production, and I fumble frantically for the remote as soon as one comes on. It’s a race against the clock, because I know if I hear that awful sound it’s going to put me in a foul mood.

Similarly, I find myself unable to stomach commercials for Fritos, Doritos, or pretty much any crunchy food. Again, I blame the foley artists. I know their intent is merely to enhance the crunchiness of their products, which they no doubt consider a huge selling point, but why do they think we want to listen to that CRUNCH, CRUNCH, CRUNCH? 

Incidentally, I tolerate the Listerine swooshing sound fine when I use it myself (on a nightly basis I might add), but I think that’s because it sounds differently when it’s coming from inside your own head.   

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolina Maine permalink
    September 12, 2008 4:30 am

    I can’t believe I just read a post about Listerine. That is why I don’t have cable:)

  2. Donna permalink
    June 25, 2009 2:26 pm

    I too, canNOT stomach those stupid Listerine ads–the sight of those stupid people swishing away, with the disgusting sound effects, makes me sick. Who on earth thought this stuff up??? They should be shot.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    February 3, 2011 6:32 pm

    I agree 100% I have to change them or I’ll want to throw up!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    January 18, 2022 12:43 pm

    I stopped using all J&J products because of how obnoxious the listerine ads are.

Leave a comment